Comptroller of Maryland. Serving the People. Peter Franchot, Comptroller
Maryland Taxes
Maryland Taxes: Find all tax-related information and services. Maryland's Money: Resource for transparent financial reporting. Comptroller of Maryland: Information and resources for government agencies, state employees, vendors, and the general public. Media Services: Outlet for agency and Comptroller news. Online Services: Links to all agency online services and applications. Search Engine: Find it Fast! Translate the website to many languages Home Page

Construction License

Under the Maryland Home Builder Registration Act any person or business that builds new homes or enters into contracts to sell new homes must be registered with the Home Builder Registration Unit of the Maryland Attorney General's Office. For more information contact the Registration Unit at 410-576-6573.

Any person or business organization must obtain a construction license from the appropriate Clerk of the Circuit Court on an annual basis if the person or oraganization agrees to do any of the following:

  • Perform work on or in any building or structure, requiring the use of paint, stone, brick, mortar, wood, cement, structural iron or steel, sheet iron, galvanized iron, metallic piping, tin, lead, electric wiring or other metal, or any other building material.
  • Perform any paving or curbing on sidewalks or streets, public or private property.
  • Excavate earth, rock or other material for foundations or any other purpose.
Maryland Home Improvement Law

If you hold a license under the Maryland Home Improvement Law you are not required to hold a construction license issued by the Clerk of the Court. A Home Improvement License is required if you perform any home improvement work in Maryland.

The legal requirement for a construction license can be found in the Business Regulation Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland, Sections 17-601 through 17-603. The legal requirement for a Home Improvement License can be found in the Business Regulation Article, Sections 8-100 through 8-702.

Construction License Information Legislation and Associations
Construction Licensing Fees

The license year runs from May 1st through the following April 30th.

  • $30 for a license in Cecil County,
  • $40 for a license in Baltimore City and
  • $15 for a license in all other counties.

$50 for out-of-state construction companies

Links for Types of Business Licenses
General Information
Business Licenses
Types of Business Licenses
  Exhibitors Affidavit
  Chain Store License
  Construction License
  Liquor License Renewals and Transfers
  Peddlers License
  Scrap Metal Processor Junk Dealer and Agent License
  Storage Warehouse License
  Traders License
  Transient Vendors License
  Vending Machine License
  Slot Machine Licenses
  Micro Market License
Download for Adobe Reader Homepage